Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
Newbie to re-loading >

Newbie to re-loading

Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

Newbie to re-loading

Old 11-09-2010, 05:43 PM
Spike

Default Newbie to re-loading

I am wanting to re-load for my 9mm pistol. What is a good beginer set to get? I am currently borrowing my friends "rock chucker" he calls it. I bought the dies for my 9mm and he has shown me how to do it. So far I have built 700+ rounds.
It's a CBSC (I think)
Old 11-10-2010, 03:03 AM
Nontypical Buck

Thats an RCBS - and is about as good as you can get for a basic/beginner type set. I have been loading for several years with mine (pistol included), and my grandpa has been using his for AGES.

A very good set indeed.

Later,

Marcial
Old 11-10-2010, 03:27 AM
Fork Horn

Originally Posted by flipside
I am currently borrowing my friends "rock chucker" he calls it. I bought the dies for my 9mm and he has shown me how to do it. So far I have built 700+ rounds.
It's a CBSC (I think)
Flipside, that "Rock Chucker" is about one of the finest reloading presses on the market!
It's available in a package form, that has everything you'll need to get yourself started reloading except brass, bullets, primers, and powder.
I bought mine at Cabelas, but there's many places you can get them.
http://www.midwayusa.com/browse/Brow...*680***8604***

There's so many options between manufacturers, but they all pretty much work the same.
The starting point question is, what's your budget?
You can get a Lee set up for just about $100 delivered, or you can step up to the Rockchucker set up for about $350 delivered.
What's the difference?
Ease of use, durability, smoothness of function, reliability...and so forth.
Understand that I'm not knocking the Lee press, just merely speaking of my own personal experiences.