Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

Speer Bullets

Old 03-18-2003, 08:12 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Speer Bullets

Does anyone use Speer bullets and if so how well do they perform on deer sized game? I will be using a Speer 120grn SPTZ bullet from a 25.06. Thank You!
Old 03-18-2003, 08:38 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Speer Bullets

I use Speer 87gr TNT for woodchucks but for deer sized game I use Hornady 120gr HP,accurate and deadly at close and long ranges...
Old 03-20-2003, 09:06 AM

That bullet should work fine for deer. I have no experience with it however.

I have shot deer and antelope with 117gr Sierra Gameking. Excellent accuracy and performance.

I have also shot deer with the 115 Nosler Partition. Accuracy was good and performance was excellent.
Old 03-21-2003, 11:34 AM
Banned

Default [Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]
Old 03-21-2003, 10:50 PM

I shoot alot of speer bullets. my 270 shoots 130 hot cores the best. killed a bunch of deer with them. i have noticed they do come apart but do alot of tissue damage.
now i shoot 165 gr grand slams in my 308 and they do a awesome job!
I have a box of 25 cal 120 sptz but i havent loaded or shot any yet. i am going to a heavier bullet next year in my 25-06 from 100 gr noslers b/t' s.
the nosler killed but i think a little heavier bullet will give better performance.
Old 03-30-2003, 03:33 AM
Nontypical Buck

just about any bullet will work for deer.....having said that, I' d recommend Hornady' s 120 gr hollow point.

I believe penetration is paramount and the inner groove of the Hornady bullets are superior to any non bonded bullets. BTW Hornady is coming out with a bonded bullet this spring.....and I' ll bet it' s going to be a winner.
Old 04-02-2003, 03:58 AM
Boone & Crockett