Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Reloading
 Is "Lee" reloading equipment any good? >

Is "Lee" reloading equipment any good?

Community
Reloading Share techniques for reloading, where to get the hottest in reloading equipment and learn how to reload from fellow hunters.

Is "Lee" reloading equipment any good?

Old 12-02-2005, 10:46 AM

Default Is "Lee" reloading equipment any good?

I am going to get into reloading and there starter kits are way cheaper than any one elses. Is there stuff OK or junk?
Old 12-02-2005, 11:38 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Is "Lee" reloading equipment any good?

I personally own RCBS stuff so I dont know "first hand" however I have never heard a bad thing about them. My friend uses Lee and he does just fine.
Old 12-02-2005, 12:25 PM

I have no experience (yet) but I've ordered the Lee hand press for christmas. I visit many other sites besides this one. Most are hunting and/or tactical sites. I, like mossy, haven't heard anything negative about them. Here are two impressions that I get about handloading.

In regard to accuracy, the more expensive dies may give a little better accuracy...is 0.1MOA worth twice the price? I decide.

Good handloading (working up loads that your guns like, finding which components "mesh" well, and just generally "knowing your $&^#") more than make up for any differences high dollar gear will make.

I would honestly say that the money is *probably better spent on another manual or different components to experiment with.
Old 12-02-2005, 01:05 PM
Fork Horn

You may want a different scale but it'll get you going for now. I started with the chalanger press and am very happy with it. I reload 30/06 down so I don't know about the larger cartridges.
Old 12-02-2005, 02:19 PM
Typical Buck

This outfit will work just fine!!!!!I've used it,to start out,along time ago.