HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Politics (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/politics-16/)
-   -   Opinion from veterans (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/politics/271957-opinion-veterans.html)

etothepii 11-05-2008 11:57 AM

Opinion from veterans

One of Obama's plans is to fully integrate homosexuals into the military. Is this an idea whose time has come, or should Obama follow the advice of his top adviser and keep the military the way it is? Personally, I have no military experience, so I can't comprehend the consequences of this.

Consider this a "moving on" thread. I'm ready to discuss President Obama.

RenaissanceBiker 11-05-2008 12:10 PM

RE: Opinion from veterans

I have not heard this from Obama so I don't know if this is a leftover campaign rumor. I am an honorably dischargedveteran of the U.S. Army. I'm sure that homosexuals have served us well in our armed forces in the past. They may have done so in secret, but that doesn't mean they haven't served as well as anyone else. What is it about homosexuals that makes you think they can't? They are people, no better or worse than anyone else. You probably know more of them than you think.

etothepii 11-05-2008 12:13 PM

http://www.usnews.com/blogs/washington-whispers/2008/10/31/barack-obamas-military-adviser-says-to-stick-with-gay-ban.html?s_cid=rss:washington-whispers:barack-obamas-military-adviser-says-to-stick-with-gay-ban

etothepii 11-05-2008 12:14 PM

What is it about homosexuals that makes you think they can't?
I never said any such thing! In fact, I said:

Personally, I have no military experience, so I can't comprehend the consequences of this.

kevin1 11-05-2008 12:21 PM

Gays have served our country since day one, letting them "come out" won't make things any better

bigbulls 11-05-2008 01:17 PM