Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Regional Forums > Northeast
When to hunt in Maine? >

When to hunt in Maine?

Community
Northeast ME, NH, VT, NY, CT, RI, MA, PA, DE, WV, MD, NJ Remember, the Regional forums are for hunting topics only.

When to hunt in Maine?

Old 09-12-2002, 06:19 AM

Default When to hunt in Maine?

Imagine being from Maine and living in Europe. Because hunting is in your blood you go home for a couple of weeks each November. Every year you have to choose what the best time is to go. You can go for 2 weeks. When would you go? The first two, the middle two or the last two weeks of hunting season? When is the rut in Southern Maine, about an hour North West of Portland? Does anybody have any advice for me? Thanks!
Old 09-12-2002, 07:54 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: When to hunt in Maine?

Hello Kezar. I have been hunting Maine the last week of the season for 16 yrs now. I have friends in Unity and Thordike, just outside Waterville. Choose the last 2 weeks....
Old 09-12-2002, 09:10 AM

I'd recommend the 1st to 2nd, then 2nd to 3rd...depending on how you like to hunt. The pre-rut is ending right around the 1st week and I firmly believe that the 2nd week always has a few days that are 'hot' so to speak, where bucks are as active as they will ever be.

The deer are also less spooked during the 1st week, not that many hunters out and no hunting pressure on them yet. Either way, 1st, 2nd and 3rd are good. We go the week before thanksgiving every year banking on colder weather. By then the bucks are teamed up w/ the does and have to locate the deer to find a buck.
Old 09-12-2002, 01:02 PM

i hunt in bridgton, denmark, fryeburg, harrison, elliot, abbot, greenville, sangerville, corrina and guilford.
i have always hunted the first opening week for m*******s. i find better luck the first week cause of the lack of hunting pressure.i have hunted the second week with very littel luck.