Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Regional Forums > Northeast
 Made a bad sot tonight >

Made a bad sot tonight

Community
Northeast ME, NH, VT, NY, CT, RI, MA, PA, DE, WV, MD, NJ Remember, the Regional forums are for hunting topics only.

Made a bad sot tonight

Old 11-03-2004, 04:27 PM

Default Made a bad sot tonight

I went out this afternoon and at about 4 0'clock i made a few calls on the grunt tube i looked to my right and i saw a deer coming my way it was a real nice 8 pointer he walked behind me at 20 yds i came to full draw and stopped him i hit a small branch and it totally sent my arrow off course i hit him in the mid neck area there was a good amount of blood i left him go and i will be out there at first light tomorrow.
This really sucks i have been bowhunting for 15 yrs and i have only shot two deer that i never found i practice just about everyday.
Right now i am just really miserable thinking that it might be suffering and that i might not find it i must of looked right thru that branch this sucks.
Old 11-03-2004, 04:49 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Made a bad sot tonight

Nobody is perfect! Things happen. Don't beat yourself up over it. Get out there tomorrow and see what you can find. The neck has a lot of arteries to sever. You said you saw a lot of blood and thats a good sign. Let us know how you make out with your search tomorrow! Good luck....Jim
Old 11-03-2004, 05:38 PM

Good call waiting until morning. You do not want to push him around. Its cold up here tonight in north jersey.
Old 11-03-2004, 08:10 PM
Typical Buck

We have all been there before and it sucks. Hang in there and go up tomorrow. This cold weather may freeze him up tonight.

Good luck and let us know.

Bob
Old 11-03-2004, 10:46 PM