Community
Northeast ME, NH, VT, NY, CT, RI, MA, PA, DE, WV, MD, NJ Remember, the Regional forums are for hunting topics only.

NJ bear hunters

Old 12-10-2003, 12:52 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default NJ bear hunters

I dont live remotely close to NJ. I have been hearing in the news that NJ has now started a bear hunting season. Myself dont see anything wrong with it. Why are there so many protesting againist these hunters. I am sure must of the protesters are liberals. Why cant they just leave us hunters alone. Us conservatives should try and ban what ever hobby liberals are into.
Old 12-10-2003, 01:46 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: NJ bear hunters

I'm not an expert on NJ, but I would imagine that these protesters are a mix of out-of-state activists and residents from the urban areas in NJ, particularly up in the north. Those people growing up in Newark don't see a lot of nature, let alone a lot of hunters. Folks in the rural parts don't seem to give it quite as much thought.

P.S. Why ban liberal hobbies? Just ban the liberals! They're lucky people like us respect the Bill of Rights so much, or they'd be finished.
Old 12-10-2003, 06:17 PM

How about a liberal hunting season? Read it as you may.
Old 12-10-2003, 07:52 PM
jbc

Aught Six had it about right. NJ has been a hotbed for anti activity for the last 5-10 years. One god thing is it has caught the attention of sportsmen and made them active.

The biggest lesson every other state can learn is to become proactive. I've seen it many times where people say "It can't happen in MY state" and the next thing you know they are banning some type of hunting or gun ownership.
Old 12-10-2003, 08:07 PM