Community
Northeast ME, NH, VT, NY, CT, RI, MA, PA, DE, WV, MD, NJ Remember, the Regional forums are for hunting topics only.

New Hunter

Old 04-25-2010, 12:13 PM
Spike

Default New Hunter

I grew up in Vermont where it seems like more people hunt than don't. I never hunted because my family simply wasn't a hunting family. I always wanted to though. So I decided that this year, at the age of 27, I am going to take the safety course, get a hunting license and start hunting. Any advice, pointers or information you guys and gals want to share with a soon-to-be new hunter?
Old 04-25-2010, 03:36 PM
Nontypical Buck

I was self taught as well. Id say the most important lessons Ive learned over the years is 1st and formost, DONT RUSH THE SHOT! When you 1st see a deer, you will want shoot it quickly before it gets away, but wait for the perfect angle, and dont pull the trigger or release, until you know you can hit em good. They are much easier to find that way.

2nd, when you get tired of waiting, wait some more.the most important element to killing game IMO, isnt your equipment or even scouting, its being in the woods when the deer are, and that somtimes requires alot of sitting and waiting, usually without seeing anything. you must resist the urge to leave and go back to the truck.
Old 04-25-2010, 03:42 PM
Spike

The best advice I can give you is to ask around and find a buddy that hunts and go with him or her.I'm sure you will come across another hunter if you go into a sporting goods store. Good luck in your adventures.
Old 04-29-2010, 08:40 AM
Fork Horn

What part of VT are you from?
Old 04-29-2010, 11:27 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default One great advantage you have

You're not limited to hunting with a bunch of buddies, all the time. You're more prepared to go solo too.

Learn how not to get lost, so you can trek more than 200 yards from a trail or road. I learned on a compass and map. Newbies can use a gps, but I'd recommend using and learning on a compass, too.