Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Regional Forums > Northeast
 Antler shedding in new york >

Antler shedding in new york

Community
Northeast ME, NH, VT, NY, CT, RI, MA, PA, DE, WV, MD, NJ Remember, the Regional forums are for hunting topics only.

Antler shedding in new york

Old 12-18-2008, 08:20 AM
Fork Horn

Default Antler shedding in new york

I own land in southern tier when do you think would be a good time to start shed hunting and i am a newbie to it any help would be appreciated. How do any of you guys or gals do it.
Old 12-18-2008, 11:44 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Antler shedding in new york

Well I shot a buck last week I thought was a doe but he had dropped his anlters. that is very early usually in NY they start dropping Mid to end of january-February but like naything bucks could drop anytime. thebest time to look is spring after first thaw but anytime in the woods spent looking is a good scouting and just plain good experience to learn your ground and deer movement
Old 12-21-2008, 04:15 PM
Typical Buck

I've seen mature bucks lose their antlers in December also. I think the dominant bucks that are doing the breeding often lose their antlers first, to help them survive the winter when the breeding is over. It is usually precipitated by a drop in testosterone after the rut.

As far as looking for sheds, feeding places and bedding areas are the best. It can happen amywhere however, so keep your eyes peeled at all times. It will be difficult to find them in the deep snow, so most guys go Late March, early april. Like the other poster said, the more you're out there, the better your chances, plus you get to learn the lay of the land and how they're using it
Old 12-21-2008, 06:28 PM
Typical Buck