Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Regional Forums > Northeast
 My 1st Archery Buck >

My 1st Archery Buck

Community
Northeast ME, NH, VT, NY, CT, RI, MA, PA, DE, WV, MD, NJ Remember, the Regional forums are for hunting topics only.

My 1st Archery Buck

Old 11-12-2007, 09:01 AM
Spike

Default My 1st Archery Buck

I just wanted to share my 1st deer taken with a bow and arrow. I have been hunting Whitetails for over 15 years with a firearm, but got into Archery 3 years ago. Talk about getting an education, Bowhunting is probably the the most challenging,and most rewarding thing I have ever done. This buck was taken Friday morning@ 8:45am.in Germantown Md.It was drizzling and chilly. Nothing was moving and I was seriously considering getting down out of my stand, when I spotted a good size doe coming out of the tall grass moving towards me. 20 yards behind her was this 7 point! The doe moved right under my stand and the buck followed...My legs were shaking and heart was going crazy!!!! A million things go thru you mind at this moment..(Stay calm, Stay focused..Hold the pin steady)...The buck was 17 yards away when I let the arrow fly. Nailed him right in the shoulder and pierced his heart..the arrow did not go all the way thru. He jumped and ran about 10 yards and he was down..I cannot express all the emotions I was feeling. Truly a natural high. This memory of my first buck with a bow will always be very special to me...I hope it will not be my last...T

Old 11-12-2007, 09:35 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: My 1st Archery Buck

Cogratz on your first archery kill. I remember my first very well. It sure is nothing like gun hunting. Best of luck out there!!
Old 11-12-2007, 09:36 AM

That's Great if it's your first BUCK with a BOW!