Community
Hunting Gear Discussion Clothing, stands, ATV's, optics, scents, calls, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new hunting gear items here.

Advice on Starter Bow to buy

Old 08-31-2010, 09:35 AM
Spike

Default Advice on Starter Bow to buy

I'm new to bow hunting and I'm not to sure what to buy. My price range is about $250 bucks. I'd like something that would be good to grow with until I can afford something better.

I deer hunt now but with a rifle however I recently got bitten by the bow bug and loved it. So any advice would be greatly apperciated.

Thanks,
Old 08-31-2010, 12:58 PM
Nontypical Buck

Congrats on giving bowhunting a try. There are tons of good bows out there. Most of the major players have "entry level" set-ups. Go handle (and maybe even shoot) as many as you can. Visit any local archery clubs and ranges. Once you find ones that fit correctly (and that you like) start price shopping. Check the classifieds here and other sites, check Ebay and the big box stores. Good luck.
Old 08-31-2010, 01:34 PM
Fork Horn

If you can come up with about a hundred dollars more I'd highly recommend the Diamond Razor's Edge. It is a great bow I bought one for my wife last year. I don't know how old or large you are but assuming you are still young and not adult size it will adjust with you until you reach adult size. Even once you are at adult size it has 60lbs of draw so is suitable for really any North American game. The bow is also very very fast compared to the other bows on the market in a comparable size range.

Now assuming you are an adult. There are many many choices on available. I'd recommend visiting your local archery shop and trying various bows out. Get your draw length measured and all of that good stuff. Ebay is a great place to find good bows and honestly there are some good deals on here as well for bows.

Good Luck!
Old 09-03-2010, 08:33 AM
Fork Horn

Hey String,