Community
Hunting Gear Discussion Clothing, stands, ATV's, optics, scents, calls, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new hunting gear items here.

GPS Problems

Old 07-24-2006, 05:23 PM

Default GPS Problems

I just got a garmin etrex vista cx. I am a complete novice I am having trouble getting started the manual doesn't realy show what to do as far as doing things such as parking your truck going in the woods and finding your way back. I understand how to start a waypoint at the beginning by pushing in the thumbstick and pushing it in at your destination or other points of interest, But I don't understand what to do to go find it. Do I use the compass page?? I understand if I hit go to it just shows a straight line to the waypoint flag. Ther is a video from garmin on this unit Does anyone know if this is anygood?? If someone could show me step by step on how to start I could probably get the other things going Thanx
Old 07-27-2006, 08:16 PM

Default RE: GPS Problems

First -- read the maual from front to back. If you are a novice at gps, then you sure picked a good one......it will take some time and playing around to get used to it, but once you do you will not regret it. Again.......great little unit-----take your time. If you can operate a modern cell phone that GPS is nothing to use, you just have to understand how to tell it what you want it to do.
Old 08-02-2006, 01:43 PM
Typical Buck

I bought a Garmin Etrex Legend and the instructional video. Video helped out some, but the best way to learn how to use it is to just mess around with it. Like Roseaukaine said, ifyou can navigate your way around a cell phone, a GPS won't be any trouble.
Old 08-10-2006, 12:29 AM
Nontypical Buck