Hogs and Exotics Gun or bow, you can stretch your season and fill the freezer with wild hogs and an assortment of exotics.

Hog Gun?

Old 10-05-2008, 02:38 PM
Fork Horn

Default Hog Gun?

Hi all, newbie here and I was wondering about gun choice for hog hunting. I live in Central FL and was checking out the regs for Ocala National Forest. At one point they mention hogs as being legal year round, but with centerfire rifles prohibited. Hunting Hog with a rimfire seems a bit odd to me. What do ya'll think?
Old 10-05-2008, 03:27 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Hog Gun?

Someone here will know the correct answer to your question. I've never hunted Florida but I had the same questions about another state I hunted. I found that hogs were legal to hunt year round with pretty much whatever was legal to hunt with, EXCEPT during deer season. During the firearm deer season hog-hunters had to use what deer hunters would use and they had to be legal to hunt deer before they could take a wild hog.
Old 10-05-2008, 07:03 PM
Boone & Crockett

Hunting Hog with a rimfire seems a bit odd to me. What do ya'll think?

Once you get the hang of it it is easy to bang flop a hog with a .22 LR. Limit your shots to 40 yards orless and onlyshoot at a hog that presents a side view. Shoot the hog in the ear, in the eye or ona line between the ear and the eye. As long as the hog is kicking keep shooting him/her in the head:A semi-automatic is good for that. Do not use hollow point bullets, you want penetration.

The .22 magnum is a fine hog killer. I use the CCI full metal jacket bullets. That bullet will go all the way through a 100 pound hog shot low behind the shoulder. Never had a hog get away after being shotwith either a .22 LR or a .22 magnum.
Old 10-05-2008, 07:27 PM
Typical Buck

ORIGINAL: falcon