Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > General Hunting Forums > Hogs and Exotics
 Questions to ask meat processors/butchers >

Questions to ask meat processors/butchers

Community
Hogs and Exotics Gun or bow, you can stretch your season and fill the freezer with wild hogs and an assortment of exotics.

Questions to ask meat processors/butchers

Old 03-15-2007, 12:39 PM

Default Questions to ask meat processors/butchers

Hello all!

I'm new to hunting big game, and I was wondering what questions should I ask to the meat processors/butchers if I want to take my game animal to be process with them.

I will hate to sound stupid, but I just do'n know how this works...do I just show up with my kill? what if they're close?

Any help is greatly appreciated,

Thank you

Old 03-15-2007, 01:05 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Questions to ask meat processors/butchers

First, call them and get their hours of business....how late and weekends....very important to know when you can take it. Have in mind how you want it cut up....how much in steaks, roasts, stew meat, chili meat, ground meat, etc. Their rates will depend on these percentages usually. Get some kind of idea of their rates before you go in. I usually touch base with the owner or manager before I kill (I harvest crops) the deer or whatever and let them know I hope to be bringing them some business....they will usually tell you then where to take it. Somebody will come out and hoist it up and next time you see it it's in white freezer wrap.
Having said all that, I try to processmy own when I have time....sometimes not feasible. PM me if you need more info. (Try to check the locals out on the reputation of the place.....some are bad about helping themselves to your backstrap. [:@][:@][:@]
Old 03-16-2007, 01:53 AM

i always ask him to wash his hands first...........lol
Old 03-16-2007, 05:54 AM