Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Gunsmithing
Cerakote barrel removal >

Cerakote barrel removal

Gunsmithing Discuss repairs, modifications, designs, or building firearms here.

Cerakote barrel removal

Old 01-24-2017, 01:35 PM
  #1  
Spike
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
Default Cerakote barrel removal

Hi everyone,

I have a Mossberg 500 which has been Cerakoted black. I have both an 18.5" and 28" barrel for it, to fit it's dual use as a home-defense and hunting gun. In the years since I had the coating applied, I've been trying to take it easy on the takedown assembly (aka barrel/magazine bolt thing) to prevent marring. But no matter how careful I am, the coating is getting messed up. I realize guns get scratched with use. Maybe it was my time in the military, but I like uniformity and this is messing with my universe.

So, does anybody have a suggestion for a tool or method for screwing/unscrewing the bolt that will minimize the amount of wear and tear on the bolt finish? I don't switch barrels often. Usually only a few times a year for the occasional trap weekend or (in this instance) rabbit hunting.
aequitas1916 is offline  
Old 01-24-2017, 11:39 PM
  #2  
Nontypical Buck
 
super_hunt54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Illinois
Posts: 3,695
Default

What bolt? You mean the cap nut on the magazine tube that holds the barrel in place? If you do, then you don't need a tool at all. Hand tighten that cap nut. It's doesn't need to be wrenched down.
super_hunt54 is offline  
Old 01-25-2017, 10:28 AM
  #3  
Spike
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 3
Default

Originally Posted by super_hunt54 View Post
What bolt? You mean the cap nut on the magazine tube that holds the barrel in place? If you do, then you don't need a tool at all. Hand tighten that cap nut. It's doesn't need to be wrenched down.
That's what I always thought. But when I don't wrench it down I've got a gap between the barrel rib and the top of the receiver. It wasn't like that last time I got it back from the smith, so I figured they must have cranked it down hard. What am I doing wrong that I'm ending up with the gap?

Thanks again!
aequitas1916 is offline  
Old 01-25-2017, 10:44 AM
  #4  
Giant Nontypical
 
jeepkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ****ifornia
Posts: 5,049
Default

I just wrap a cloth around the nut and use "soft jaw" channellocks on my 1100...works fine.
jeepkid is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.