Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Gunsmithing > Gunsmithing Projects & Techniques
Reviving an Abused Revolver (Kinda pic heavy?) >

Reviving an Abused Revolver (Kinda pic heavy?)

Community
Gunsmithing Projects & Techniques Reference material for step by step projects and gunsmithing techniques

Reviving an Abused Revolver (Kinda pic heavy?)

Old 10-12-2014, 08:15 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Reviving an Abused Revolver (Kinda pic heavy?)

Although it’s not a particularly large project – the work would fit in a single weekend – I’ve been working here and there on this little revolver for a couple years. Now that it’s finished, I thought I’d share the tale. As to be expected from my posts, it’s a long story, but for those interested in following along, I aim to illustrate not only a cautionary tale for used gun buyers, as well as how some DIY elbow-grease can right the ship when things tick out of time, even without involving a gunsmith.

What this is NOT:
  1. This is NOT a gunsmithing guide. If I blow myself up, that’s my problem. I assume no liability for injuries or damages that might occur should anyone try to use the info herein to modify their own firearms.

2. This is NOT a knock on Taurus Revolvers. This is a story about the revival of a sweet shooting, 50yr old, little revolver that had been SEVERELY ABUSED before it came into my hands.

3. This is NOT a knock on Taurus Customer Service. As detailed below, Taurus made a very fair offer to act on their Lifetime warranty by replacing the weapon. I chose NOT to exercise that option.

The Revolver: