HuntingNet.com Forums - View Single Post - Reviving an Abused Revolver (Kinda pic heavy?)
Old 10-22-2014, 02:43 PM
Nomercy448
Nontypical Buck

Robert, thanks for the kind words, for taking interest, and for the questions!

Originally Posted by RobertSubnet
About your protocol to barricade in place (the bedroom) - have you considered home invasions during the day time when your MiL might not be in the bedroom? Is there a possibility that she might get cut-off from the bedroom and her firearm?
The short answer is that, yes, we HAVE considered daytime invasions.

The long answer is this: :P

While it's not my MO, I'm certified as a risk assessor (industrial and commercial processes), and I'm also a certified firearms instructor, and newly licensed CCW instructor. It's kinda natural for me to let that part of my job overlap into my personal pursuits.

In general, I've seen a trend that Risk Mitigation programs with fewer mitigating controls and response protocols to cover a great number of risks are more effective than more complex programs. In other words, "One solution for many problems" tends to work well - aka "Keep It Simple & Straightforward" - or whatever flavor of "KISS" you prefer.

My go-to process starts by identifying potential risks/threats. In this case, that means identifying possible infiltration points as they relate to her activity areas. I used those to develop suitable control mechanisms and response protocols to deal with those risks.

Since we're talking about my mother-in-law and her in-home defense portion of her Self-defense program:

Her "one solution to many problems" is to have her cell phone and EDC weapon (the Ruger LCR) readily accessible on or near her person at all times. Another "universal solution" to any risk is to distance herself from danger, aka "Escape". So these are high priorities in her Defense Program.