Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Mounting a Scope >

Mounting a Scope

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Mounting a Scope

Old 03-12-2005, 04:58 PM

Default Mounting a Scope

Hello all. I want to appologize in advance for a very likely repost; however, I'm sort of short on time to look through all of these threads at the moment. I just recently bought a Browning A-Bolt II Medallion .30-06. I also just recently bought a Weaver Grand Slam 3-10x40 scope along with Leupold PRW rings and bases. I was curious as to how difficult it is to mount the scope? I have no experience, but is it a pretty easy thing to do? Or should I take it in to a local gun shop to have someone do it? Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.
-Aaron
Old 03-12-2005, 08:25 PM

Default RE: Mounting a Scope

hello aaron, it's easy to mount a scope. i recently mounted a bushnell 3x9x40mm 3200 on my browning abolt stainless stalker .270. use some blue lock-tite on the screws attaching the bases to the barrel. .do not overtighten the screws. you don't want to break off a screw. good luck jaime
Old 03-13-2005, 11:46 AM
Nontypical Buck

Aaron,Like mentioned mounting a scope isn't hard. If you're not sure of yourself I'm sure you know someone you can watch install it for you.The Blue Loc-tite is a must.Any auto parts store sells it. It's Loc-Tite 242.Intructions come with the base and rings.Take your time,following the instructions and you shouldn't have a problem.Once you mount one or two you'll see how easy it really is.Good luck.

Ruger Redhawk
Old 03-13-2005, 12:08 PM
Giant Nontypical

If you are using the tool provided with the leupold bases and rings you would have a hard time breaking a screw.I tighten until the supplied wrench begins to flex and after mounting more than a dozen scopes,I have never broken a screw.
Old 03-13-2005, 05:18 PM