Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Gold Hunter??? >

Gold Hunter???

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Gold Hunter???

Old 09-07-2004, 02:18 PM
Spike

Default Gold Hunter???

What is everyone's opinion about the browning 3 ½'' gold hunter. Thinking about buying one for my father. I know nothing about them.

Are they worth the money?

How are they as a waterfowl gun?

Do they have a lot of problems?
Old 09-07-2004, 02:40 PM
bigcountry

Default RE: Gold Hunter???

I got one as a slug gun. I love it. Love it so much, I have been using it in rifle counties too for the past 2 years. I have been trying to figure out your question too. Alot of people on here are SBE nuts. I don't know anyone that has these either. Guess I hang around a poor bunch of duck hunters. I know a few people that shoot 3" golds just fine since they came out. Never a jam in 20degree weather on the MD bay in salty water. But one guy on here doesn't like the 3.5". He said he had one of the earlier ones. He said it jammed on him while waterfowling but worked fine for upland game. If I was going to 3.5", I would go ahead to 10ga. For geese anyway.

Old 09-07-2004, 11:05 PM
Giant Nontypical

i sold mine, have had a belgium auto 5 3"mag 30" barrel for many years and the gun is indestructable but i needed to put it up, figured the gold would be a good item, was not happy sold it and got a benelli, i love the benelli and the guy i sold the gold to loves it, go figure. for the most part i think there are a good gun and so do alot of others and like bigcountry mentioned mine was one of the early ones.

best of luck
Old 09-08-2004, 06:17 AM

I like my Gold and use 3.5 and 3" mag waterfoul loads on a regular basis. Gun feeds and shoots very well and I have yet to have jamb. Using 3.5" shells mostly for geese as they are a bit expensive and I can't really say they make that much difference over the 3" shells.