Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Sako vs. Weatherby vs. Browning >

Sako vs. Weatherby vs. Browning

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Sako vs. Weatherby vs. Browning

Old 04-27-2004, 07:02 PM

Default Sako vs. Weatherby vs. Browning

Looking for a good Synthetic/Stainless Deer Rifle for use mainly in Minnesota and Wisconsin. I think that I have narrowed-down the caliber to .270, possibly WSM. Now for the tough part, what's the best of the three - Browning A-Bolt Stainless Stalker (~$800), Weatherby Mark V Stainless (~$900), or Sako 75 Stainless (~$800)? I have shouldered and worked the Browning and it feels very nice, better than a Remington or Winchester or Tikka t3 for that matter, haven't felt the other two.

I'm pretty new to this sport so would like the advise of some of you experts. I nailed a nice 8 pointer in Wisconsin last year with a borrowed Custom Montana Rifleman 7mm Rem Mag (Nosler Partition). I think that this caliber is probably a little too hard hitting to practice with and most likely overkill for Whitetails.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Old 04-27-2004, 07:43 PM

Default RE: Sako vs. Weatherby vs. Browning

All of the three listed are very good rifles and will certainly do the job. Not knowing how you'll hunt or your needs it sounds like you're taking some longer shots from a blind or stand across open field. Up here where I hunt deer shots are very short, in dense bush and small rifles (Marlin, Winchester or Browning levers) are favored.