Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Beretta or Benelli >

Beretta or Benelli

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Beretta or Benelli

Old 02-23-2004, 10:01 AM

Default Beretta or Benelli

I have been hunting pheasants for two years now, and I am thinking of upgrading from my 12ga pump to an auto. The two guns that I have in mind are the Benelli SBE and the Beretta 391. What are the pros and cons of these two guns? Any others that I should maybe consider as well?
Old 02-23-2004, 11:21 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Beretta or Benelli

Save a little money and take a look at the Franchi variomax 912. Same Family, same great gun!!!!

j
Old 02-23-2004, 12:06 PM

J
How long have you had your Franchi? How much do they typically go for?
obby1
Old 02-23-2004, 12:20 PM

i would go with a benelli simply because of its inertia recoil system, ie less working parts equals better longevity. i considered the franchi before i bought my sbe and in my opinion the benelli is of superior craftsmanship, althought the franchi is a nice gun.

the only problem i have incurred with my sbe is it doesnt like to cycle light 2 3/4 loads.
Old 02-23-2004, 12:39 PM
Typical Buck

I've had mine for not quite two years! I really enjoy it. From what I remember I paid Mid 700's for it. The MSRP on mine with the Realtree camo is $885, if I recall correctly. Check out the website, all prices are listed under specifications. It was on sale at the time. They were trying to get rid of some inventory.