Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
Handgun for home defense/target shooting >

Handgun for home defense/target shooting

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Handgun for home defense/target shooting

Old 11-19-2012, 01:48 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Handgun for home defense/target shooting

Hi everyone,

Just wanted some opinions to help me out with an upcoming purchase. I own many rifles and shotguns but the only handgun I have right now is a Ruger MK III. I have shot quite a few different handguns in multiple calibers, so I have some experience there.

I am looking to buy a handgun for home defense and target shooting at the range. It will never be used for CCW, as I live in the wonderful state of Illinois which will pass CCW laws when hell freezes over. So it doesn't need to be compact at all.

I prefer a handgun that is either SA/DA or striker-fired. I'm not interested in a DAO pistol. The handgun MUST have a manual safety - not interested in Glocks or the like that only have the trigger safety. I have shot the Springfield XD, and I really don't like how it feels in my hand, so that is out as well.

As for caliber, it should be 9mm mostly due to ammo cost, as I will be shooting it a fair bit at the range. I really like the .45, but ammo is too expensive.

I have shot the Taurus 24/7 quite a bit, and like it, but I am open to other options. Opinions????

Forgot to add- pricewise would like to keep it under $500. Thanks for all replies...

Last edited by oldsmellhound; 11-19-2012 at 01:50 PM.
Old 11-19-2012, 02:44 PM
Nontypical Buck

i like the 40 cal
can get a good deal on a used one and have some cash left over.
i like glock, you can sprinkle sand in there and it will not jam up. tested it myself. took me damn near a year to get the sand out the spring.
Old 11-19-2012, 02:51 PM
Giant Nontypical

Well, I've carried a Glock 23 for several years now, too bad you don't like Glocks...