Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
mounting rings and bases... >

mounting rings and bases...

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

mounting rings and bases...

Old 02-12-2010, 11:04 AM
  #1  
Giant Nontypical
Thread Starter
 
mauser06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: PA
Posts: 9,085
Default mounting rings and bases...

just curious if i need to use loc tite or anything when mounting rings and bases...?? or just tighten them down snug???

dont wanna risk having anything back out...the base is staying on the gun forever...rings may or may not...might change the scope later...

so im thinking maybe lock tite the base to the receiver and tighten the rings down tight...?? or stay away from lock tite? or lock tite them all??

thanx...dont wanna mess around on this rifle....cant afford a loose scope!
mauser06 is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 11:16 AM
  #2  
Fork Horn
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: 5a
Posts: 183
Default

I use a dab of the Blue Loctite on the base screws only. Never had a problem with them coming loose and never had a problem getting them out when needed either.
Camosteel is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 11:59 AM
  #3  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,320
Default

I use the very smallest amount of blue lock tite on the bases but otherwise no. I have found that using a good inch pound torque wrench and establishing a set torque for each type of screw goes along way toward the best scope mounting. This would assume a set of rings correctly matched and lapped.
skb2706 is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 01:01 PM
  #4  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,143
Default

blue loktite or clear nail polish works for me
jerry d is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 01:08 PM
  #5  
Nontypical Buck
 
Pawildman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: S.W. Pa.-- Heart in North Central Pa. mountains-
Posts: 2,600
Default

RR hit a real good point...Degrease!! Get the oil off the screws and the holes. Use a Q-Tip or piece of tissue with a solvent and get 'em cleaned up before you use any type of locking agent. And as SKB said, proper torque is important also. The Fat Wrench is a good choice for work such as this. It's a good tool for any workbench.
Pawildman is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 02:17 PM
  #6  
Fork Horn
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Belmont, MS.
Posts: 292
Default

Degrease and blue loctite on bases only, also torque both base and rings.
NITEHAWKJS is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 02:44 PM
  #7  
Fork Horn
 
ajstrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Paducah, Kentucky
Posts: 146
Default

I clean the screws off real good and do not use any form of loctite. I use Leupold rings and bases and they use a torx T15 bit, so I have this little torque wrench to use...

http://www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/te...box.jsp.form23

It is not fancy, only torques to one setting, but its perfect for mounting optics on guns. If you really wanted to use loctite, I could see using it on the base screws, because you can not tighten those once the scope is on and there is no need to adjust the base. But I would not put them on the ring screws because further adjustment might be necessary and you can access the screws easy enough to torque down again if necessary for some odd reason. I do recommend using some kind of torque wrench. People will say oh, you can just snug them up, well the first time you strip out the threading on your rifle base holes and have to get them retapped, you will wonder why you didn't spend the 30-50 bucks on the wonderful tool in the first place.
ajstrider is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 02:55 PM
  #8  
Spike
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 17
Default

Blue (Medium) locktite. The red stuff can be a little too permanent.
quickdraw62 is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 03:22 PM
  #9  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,143
Default

I've mounted,over the years 4 scopes on the rifles I've owned. I never cleaned the screws..........it makes all the sense in the world to do so!!! Thanks for the education gentleman.
jerry d is offline  
Old 02-12-2010, 09:44 PM
  #10  
Fork Horn
 
SGT.H's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 149
Default

what's the normal torque you put on the screws?
SGT.H is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2023 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.