Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Long Range Shooters(RR?) >

Long Range Shooters(RR?)

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Long Range Shooters(RR?)

Old 12-11-2008, 08:46 PM
Super Moderator

Default Long Range Shooters(RR?)

Hey!
RR and several others in here I know can shoot some rediculous distances. I have been shooting out to 400 yards with my REMY 700 in .30-06. I just got my farthest kill to date on a PA doe at 395 yards. Perfect shot it dropped dead. Problem is I am shooting a cheaper scope without the MOA adjustment(not sue what to call them??) turrets on the scope. I have just practiced enough I know where to hold to keep it in a pie plate at 400 yards. Question is, what scope in the $200 dollar range can i buy (I'm a poor college student) that will give me the adjustment turrets and is it realistic to be able to shoot 500 yards without handloading and without messing with my bolt and barrel? If I can get 500 yard range I'd be very happy for now! Thanks for any ideas!!!!
-Jake
Old 12-11-2008, 10:17 PM

Default RE: Long Range Shooters(RR?)

In that price range, to be honest, its gonna be tough to find something with solid, repeatable turret adjustments. If 500 yards is your "target" range, no pun intended, my suggestion, and what I have on several of my guns, is a Burris with the Ballitic-Plex reticle. By properly setting up your load, and testing it out with that reticle at known ranges, you can do very well with it out to your specified distance. Its the least complicated or "busy" of just about any of the drop-compensator type reticles. You can pick up a Fullfield II 3-9x40 for just a tick over $200 at several places on line. Highly recommend that one. May get some other suggestions. Nice shot by the way, and its always nice to hear someone practicing at long range instead of just hammering away on a wing and prayer.
Old 12-11-2008, 10:25 PM
Super Moderator