Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 gun stock refinishing question >

gun stock refinishing question

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

gun stock refinishing question

Old 04-25-2008, 08:33 PM

Default gun stock refinishing question

I've been refinishing my Mossberg 500 stock this week. Anyway, I'm on my fourth coat of staining and the stock and forearm appear to be two different shades. I'm currently using tru-oil which I don't think is going to give me the darkness I desire. Should I have used the walnut stain first and then the Tru-oil as a final coat? I read somewhere to use only the Tru-oil. Can you tell this is my first time doing anything like this?

Heres a before pic.

Heres the work in progress.

Old 04-26-2008, 04:21 AM

Default RE: gun stock refinishing question

If you're goin' for looks, then strip it to bare wood next time, stain it, let stain dry for a week or so, then apply true oil in multiple coats without any sanding between coats.......

slather it on, let it set a minute or two,and thenwipe it off with a lint free cloth until it's dry enough to handle.

Takes 15 to 30 coats to make it look "good".......
Old 04-26-2008, 08:32 AM
Typical Buck

Wilds correct...
I just got done with the stock on my Abolt '06. First is two or three coats of stain let dry a week then start the tru oil. a coat everyday for ten days sanding it with OOOO steel wool in between. The foreend and the stock may be two diffrent colors when done as it is two diffrent pieces of wood and each may take stain diffrent.
Old 04-26-2008, 08:38 AM

Okay, thanks guys. The article I read stated to sand it down to bare wood (which I did) and apply a minimum of five coats of tru-oil while sanding in between. Its nice looking but not quite the color I wanted. So you guys are basically saying tru-oil is used as a sealer after the actual stain is applied?
Old 04-26-2008, 10:21 AM
Typical Buck