Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Best Handgun for hunting?

Old 01-12-2007, 12:20 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Best Handgun for hunting?

What's the best handgun I could buy for taking whitetails??? Looking to buy. Looking for great range, great handling best overall. Any advice?
Old 01-12-2007, 12:23 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Best Handgun for hunting?

By the way, I'd like to stay away from revolvers if at all possible. But if they're the best let me know. I'm just getting into this.
Old 01-12-2007, 01:25 PM

I think you'll get a lot of biased opinions to wade through on this one, but hearing what has worked for others may point you in the right direction.I would like to know how many different choicesare out there. Somegreat hunting handguns aren't even made anymorebut can be found used.

I carry two pistols while hunting, one for long range open fieldshots and one for closequick shots.

1)My long range option is an Encore in 7mm-08with15" barrelandhandloaded 139 gr. HornadaySST Interlocks. It's topped with a Burris 3-12X with ballplex and parralax adjustment. The 7mm-08 has little recoil withgreat ballistics for long range shooting.

2) Whilestalking or moving in/out of the stand I carrya 44. Mag Ruger Super RedHawkiniron sights withhandloaded 320 gr hardcast WLNGC. Ihave been looking for an Eotech 510AA or 550 AA to put on theRuger forfastertargetacquisition, but have been toldby my local shops that they are in short supply. Currently I amtest loading240 gr hardcast bullets. I think for whitetails they will get the job done at a cheaper price. Federal American Eagle 240 gr loads worked just fine before I started handloading to get better groups.