Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Slug vs. Buckshot vs. Sabot >

Slug vs. Buckshot vs. Sabot

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Slug vs. Buckshot vs. Sabot

Old 11-28-2006, 09:34 AM
Typical Buck

Default Slug vs. Buckshot vs. Sabot

Help. . .I'm new to shotgun hunting for whitetail deer. Which of these do you prefer and why? BTW, this is for deer hunting in OH. Buckshot may not be legal.
Old 11-28-2006, 09:43 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Slug vs. Buckshot vs. Sabot

Fully rifled barrel. Sabot slugs. Barrel can be open sights or cantalievered with scope. Up to you. But your most accurate option, that will give you the greatest window for unknowns (ie: distance) will be the fully rifled barrel with sabots.
Old 11-28-2006, 10:01 AM

Being in college I prefera smoothbore with rifled slugs simply because of the cost factor. The slugs are accurate enough for the distances I shoot.
Old 11-28-2006, 10:29 AM

I have been shooting the brenneke's for 5 years now.. and they hit like a truck. I have never had a deer run after being shot. On 11/19/06 I shoot the biggest deer(9 point 154 lbs.dressed)of hunting career with Bren slug. (1 1/4 oz.) at 75 yards and it hit the floor like a rock. Not even a step. and Not even a sabot. I have a rifled barrel just haven't changed yet. just my 2 cents.

Old 11-28-2006, 11:11 AM

i've been hunting with my pops for some time with shotgun for white tail and we both use partition gold sabots (385 gr. win.) and we both haven't been disappointed with the result, but keep in mind the box does label that the shots should be used in a fully rifled barrel (you don't have to, but the performance of the shot will be decreased) right now i'm using the benelli super black eagle II and my pops is using a browning auto 5 with a hasting rifled barrel, where are stands are located on the farm i can hit (and clean kill) a deer at 135 yards

deffo worth it for sabots