Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 New to forum and hunting >

New to forum and hunting

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

New to forum and hunting

Old 05-19-2006, 06:25 PM

Default New to forum and hunting

I am a Navy vet who had rarely shoat a gun before joining, and never hunted before, but fell in love of shoot while I was in.
I am looking for a good deer and turkey gun(s) for a beginner on a budget.
Also what do you think about the rifle and shotgun combos?
Thanks
Ryan
Old 05-19-2006, 06:26 PM

Default RE: New to forum and hunting

BTW I'll be hunting in Northern Georgia. I live in Lawrenceville and work In Winder.
Old 05-19-2006, 07:33 PM

hey and welcome. i'm new to this site as well. 870 Express is a lot of gun for the money. I bought mine for $220. It chambers 2 3/4 in. and 3 in. shells. If you want to varmint hunt, the combo guns are good. They're single shot, but you have the versitility of long and close range. Hope it helps.
Les H
Old 05-19-2006, 10:19 PM
Giant Nontypical

Howdy and welcome to the forums!

A shotgun is probably the most versatile gun you can get. For turkey, you need a shotgun. For deer, you can use a shotgun. After a while, you may want to advance to a rifle for deer.

There are a host of manufacturers that make good shotguns and rifles. My suggestion is to go to some stores, handle some guns, and see which one feels right to you.
Old 05-20-2006, 08:17 AM
Boone & Crockett

Welcome aboard from another Navy Vet. I had a combo Savage rifle shotgun that was 30-30 over 12 Ga. I really liked it. Pretty good dual purpose gun. We hunt deer with rifles up here but a good 870 shotgun would sure get the jobs done.
Old 05-20-2006, 08:34 AM