Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Barrel Selection for Wingmaster, pls help >

Barrel Selection for Wingmaster, pls help

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Barrel Selection for Wingmaster, pls help

Old 08-31-2005, 06:27 PM
Typical Buck

Default Barrel Selection for Wingmaster, pls help

I have a Rem Wingmaster 12 ga, improved cylinder that is appx 22 years old, gloss finish with 2 3/4 inch shells only. It does not have a vented rib so i don't like the looks of it so much, but more importantly, it does not have variable choke, so other than dove/quail, it has limited use. I dont' really find the improved cyl as suitable for duck or turkey. I was about to purchase a new mossberg or remington express that would be more versatile with interchangeable chokes when it occured to me that I could buy a new barrel for this gun. I looked around ebay and there are a few, but i realzied i don't really know what to look for. The barrels aren't cheap, but it looks like they are cheaper than a rem express for $250, plus, i like the action and quality of the wingmaster better than the express.

My question is, I would like to buy a new or used barrel in 26 inch (28 is ok), gloss, vent rib and preferably with interchangeable chokes. Some of the barrels say they are 2 3/4 and 3inch. Will the 3 inch work with my gun if get the 3 inch barrel or is the receiver a problem?

It seems like most of the std 2 3/4 inch barrels do not have interchangeable chokes, so if that's the case, I will need to buy a modified cylinder as a middle of the road cyl to go w/ my improved, though a full choke might make sense too.

Any buying advice is appreciated. Also, if you can rec a place to purchase such an item at a fair price (besides ebay), pls advise.

thx
Old 09-01-2005, 06:22 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Barrel Selection for Wingmaster, pls help

someone must have suggestions
Old 09-01-2005, 06:59 PM