Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Out of state=no gun? >

Out of state=no gun?

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Out of state=no gun?

Old 08-27-2005, 02:07 AM

Default Out of state=no gun?

I went to a shop today to buy a .17HMR savage with stainless heavy barrel, and they wouldn't sell it to me! they said because i have a california license that i can't buy here (utah). i have to switch my license over to utah but i'm just a student and will be going back to cali. has anyone ever had this problem before?
Old 08-27-2005, 06:14 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Out of state=no gun?

You can buy a long gun in a state you don't reside in. Handguns would have to go through a FFL holder in your state of residence. maybe try finding a dealer that knows this or tell this one, what's actually legal.
Old 08-27-2005, 06:29 AM
bigcountry

Its not that you are out of state but out of state CA resident. Here in MD, they will sell to PA and Va residences for longguns but not to NJ or NY.

There are a few states that are no no's to sell to. As mentioned, CA, NJ, NY, MA, CN, maybe Illinois. Other than that, the rest are big happy families. When I go back to Ky, they won't sell me a pistol with MD licence cause MD requires guns to have a built in trigger lock and fired case.

Old 08-27-2005, 06:53 AM
Nontypical Buck

Just to clarify, I live in NJ and regularly purchase guns in NY. Either I am misunderstanding Bigcountrys statement, orhe is not correct.
Old 08-27-2005, 07:15 AM
Dominant Buck

This is from Cabelas:

ATTENTION: Residents of IL, MA, MI, NJ, and NY please check your local laws for restrictions before ordering any black-powder firearm.
Old 08-27-2005, 07:27 AM
Nontypical Buck

To further clarify, after just reading the updated,(October2004), state specific regulations for both NY and NJ as posted on the National Rifle Associations web site....