Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Fishing Forum > Freshwater Fishing
 I Need Trout Advice From Some Veterans >

I Need Trout Advice From Some Veterans

Community
Freshwater Fishing Discussion of all aspects of freshwater fishing.

I Need Trout Advice From Some Veterans

Old 06-25-2007, 10:37 AM

Default I Need Trout Advice From Some Veterans

I have been fishing for trout in this one particular spot for a few years. This year they have been stocking browns as well as rainbows. I have also caught a couple of brook trout in there too. My question is this to the seasoned trout angler...
What are some of the main reasons that trout decide not to bite??? FOr instance. It was about 10:30am and we were hiking back up the trail. I spotted a few rather large trout (all over 12") swimming around in a little side pool. We tried everything from live crickets to Powerbait, to Panther Martins, to other plastic lures. They would turn tword it when it hit the water, but then they would just turn away. I evenb hit them with a few of the casts. It became extremely frustrating because the little ones would be on it and the bigger ones would be uninterested. Why would the little one be biting, but the big ones not? Even when the big ones would chase the spinners, it was like they were only hitting on it cause they were annoyed or being territorial, or something. Could it be that it just wasnt the right time for feeding? I mean they do usually bite better...the earlier you get up there. Cold water streams too...year round. NE Georgia mountains FYI
Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

1AS
Old 06-25-2007, 02:54 PM

Default RE: I Need Trout Advice From Some Veterans