Community
Freshwater Fishing Discussion of all aspects of freshwater fishing.

Questions...

Old 05-30-2007, 01:18 AM
Fork Horn

Default Questions...

Ok well I'm only 20 but I have been fishing since about 12 but I'm kinda new to catching big bass.... Anyway while fishing this weekend we got into alot of big bass and I had two different times that I had on a fish that would prolly go anywhere from 5-8lbs, both times I hooked them out about 30 feet from the boat and one jumped out of the water and spit my lure out about 10ft from the boat and the other about 3 ft from the boat.. I am just wondering why they are spitting them out, does that mean I didn't have my hook set well enough or they aren't sharp enough or what? And I am wondering what brand and or size of hooks do yal reccomend for fishing with all kinds ofplastic worms and ect...
Old 05-30-2007, 02:29 AM
Dominant Buck

Default RE: Questions...

I use what I have. When I moved ot Florida I was introduced to the Mustad worm hook. I generally fish with a 6 " worm so I use a #3 hook..If I go to a 7 inch worm I use a #4 I bought a lot of 100 from Bass Pro for 5.00 in each size. I don't use a bullet sinker..instead I pinch a BB shot above the hook and slide the worm over the BB...How? before I put the worm on a make a small hole in the head of the worm with a micro screwdriver..The worm fits snuggly over the BB shot.

If I was rich I'd buy the Gamakatsu worm hooks..They are very sharp..and yes, check your hooks often for bent points etc.

Bringing the fish in...Keep your rod bent.....don't give them any slack what soever. When they start jumping I keep the rod tip down toward the water..this helps eliminate jumping.
Also ...don;t horse the fish in..the bent rod will keep him or her on.

Here is a pic ofa Mustad worm hook..

Old 05-30-2007, 06:34 AM
Boone & Crockett

Fishing and hooking into the Atlantic Salmon has taught me alot from big fish jumping out of the water.

#1 Do not horse the fish in as Chuck stated.