Community
Freshwater Fishing Discussion of all aspects of freshwater fishing.

Sage fly rods

Old 01-15-2006, 08:57 PM
Typical Buck

Default Sage fly rods

Howdy all. I am a fly fishermen and I have been using a phleuger 2 peice 4/5 rod for three years now and I would like something else. I looked at kirks fly shop up in estes park (my favorite fly shop) and they had a 2 piece sage launch for 170. Now I graduate in three weeks and my wife admitted that she wants to get me a good fly rod for a graduation presentation that will last a lifetime. Sage has what seems to be the best warranty in the business. WOuld you choose a sage, or a st croix? I like sage but it is considerably more.

Also, has anyone here ever built thier own fly rod from a blank?
EJ
Old 01-16-2006, 10:15 AM

Default RE: Sage fly rods

Building your own rod is not going to save you all that much money, by the time you get set up and all. Plus the warranty is only good on the blank and you have to ship it back to them striped down.

As far as rods go Sage is a vary good rod, I have a 8.5 ft #5 SLT, what a rod. They are alittle expensive, but I get em at cost. I have fished with both a sage, cant think of the name but it is comparable to the launch, and a St Croix Avid, both were nice rods and for the price I dont think you could go wrong. I like my sage better then the ST. Croix because it is alot lighter, but it still has all kinds of power.

Last year I fished with a Orvis silver lable and I thought it was also a good lower priced rod (its funny that I call a $200 rod "lower priced"). They also have a vary good warranty, and I have heard from a few people that you cant beat their customer service.

If you are looking for a rod around $150-200 any of the name brand rods will work just fine. They are all different but once you fish with one for a while you get accustomed to it.

Hope this helped,what will your degree be in?
Old 01-16-2006, 07:59 PM
Typical Buck