Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Firearm Review Forum
 Muzzleloader, What' s the best kind? >

Muzzleloader, What' s the best kind?

Firearm Review Forum Rifles, shotguns, blackpowder, pistols, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new firearms here.

Muzzleloader, What' s the best kind?

Old 10-28-2003, 10:24 PM

Default Muzzleloader, What' s the best kind?

I' m interested in muzzleloading, would like information on low maintenance firearm. Would like to buy an in-line, how involved are these guns in terms of cleaning, loading etc. How much are they in general. Thank you
Old 10-29-2003, 03:43 AM

Default RE: Muzzleloader, What' s the best kind?

GO C.V.A ALL THE WAY
Old 10-29-2003, 03:59 PM
Giant Nontypical

Great number to choose from and many good ones at that. I would say yourt looking at 280-500 depending on make, model and features. I have been using the rem 700 mls for 6 years and never had a problem, it gets great accuracy and easy to clean. Speaking of cleaning it isn' t as bad as one thinks, as long as you can take the breech out of an inline, it as simple as flushing with hot/soapy water and then running some clean patches through till they come clean. You' ll find more time is spent cleaning the rest of the gun. But from dirty to spick and span no more than 15 minutes. The key is doing it as soon as possible, as the powder sits it becomes hard to remove and after long periods can cause pitting and damage. I would suggest that you look at a SS barrel vs blue and synthetic stock vs wood. They just seem to with stand the BP and subs better and are much easier to determine when clean.