Community
Firearm Review Forum Rifles, shotguns, blackpowder, pistols, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new firearms here.

semi auto for deer

Old 12-28-2008, 12:23 PM
Spike

Default semi auto for deer

I am a beginner hunter and love it, i am looking to get a semi auto either .308 or 30.06 for hunting deer in upstate NY, i reLally like the browning shorttrac .308 because it is light, if any one can help me out here ion as to what is the best choice please let me know im considering browning shorttrack .308 or remington 750
Old 12-28-2008, 06:11 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: semi auto for deer

i have several 742's 7400's and two 750's in whelen and 06. all are carbines. i havnt ever had any trouble but i take good care of them and maintain them often. keeping them clean is key. i think a 750 carbine in 06 would make you a hell of a good deer rifle although i prefer them pump 760/7600 over the semi auto.....
Old 12-28-2008, 08:56 PM
bigcountry

I own 7400's and browning bars. The bars really blow the 7400's away in quality. Night and day difference. I would pass on that shorttrac and go with the safari (steel reciever) BAR.

Old 12-28-2008, 09:18 PM

This year I bought a Browning Bar Safari 30.06 with open sights and I could not be happier. It is a quality gun that will last a lifetime. This paticular rifle is about 10 years old but in perfect shape. I also hunt in NY in the northern tier and the group I hunt with use the bar and a couple use the pump remingtons. These are seasoned vets that will break a rifle over their knee if they malfunction and they use bar's. I never used a rem auto so I can't say anything about them but the new rem auto in 35 whelen could also be a great woods gun.
Old 12-29-2008, 09:16 AM

+1 for the Browning .308
Old 12-29-2008, 10:02 AM
Nontypical Buck