Firearm Review Forum Rifles, shotguns, blackpowder, pistols, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new firearms here.

First Centerfire

Old 02-27-2007, 10:21 AM

Default First Centerfire

Hey guys, I'm looking to get my first centerfire rifle with my tax refund. I'm looking at the Stevens 200 in .308 Win. In Indiana I can't hunt with a rifle for deer, so it would mostly be just a new toy. Eventually I would like to move up north where I can use it for deer and possibly take a trip or two out west for elk. Is this a good set up? Should I get it in 30-06 instead? I decided on the .308 because I can get ammo cheaper for it. If you have any other ideas, I need to keep the price under $400, closer to $300 if possible.

Also, because I have no experience with the centerfires, how does the recoil of the two cartridges compare to the 12 guage?
Old 02-27-2007, 11:38 AM

Default RE: First Centerfire

if you want to hunt both deer and elk then the .30-06 would be an excellent choice.
Old 02-27-2007, 11:48 AM
Fork Horn

Greetings. I'm glad to see yourlittle burgsurvivedmy 4 year stintacross the rivermany years ago.

Start by reading this: http://www.huntingnet.com/forum/tm.aspx?m=2015336

and then all8 pages of this: http://www.huntingnet.com/forum/tm.aspx?m=1856380.

You'll find you're on the right track. You're also about to get hundreds of thousands of replies from zealous defenders of 1 cartridge or another, as well as every model of rifle ever produced: be prepared to take them all with a grain o' salt. The .308 & .30-06 will comfortably do what you'd like to do, as will several others. And the Stevens 200, despite its low price and blue collar pedigree, will put the bullets awfully close to where you want them to go.

In your price range, you may do well to take a look at Howa rifles, too, since you'dget a better trigger & stock. And please, PLEASE, make room in your budget for at least $100 worth of scope: you'll never hit what you can't see.

Good Luck,

FC