Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Firearm Review Forum
 Marlin 1894 .44 from Big 5? >

Marlin 1894 .44 from Big 5?

Community
Firearm Review Forum Rifles, shotguns, blackpowder, pistols, etc... read the latest reviews of hot new firearms here.

Marlin 1894 .44 from Big 5?

Old 05-31-2006, 12:11 PM
Spike

Default Marlin 1894 .44 from Big 5?

Hello everyone, I'm new to hunting net, have only been seriously hunting for the last few years but I'm quite consumed with it. I've been involved with firearms most of my life and volunteer as a range saftey officer at a local range. (nutshell hello speech!).

I just bought a Marlin 1894 in .44 mag from my newly local Big 5 store. It has a hardwood stock instead of the nice walnut stock my 336C has but I'm thinking on mostly using it for fairly closeup protection while out scouting and camping and such. (The most I have to worry about here in southern Calif is pot farmers and mountain lions, of which I'm sharing one hunting spot with 2 of the big cats that I know of).

Has anyone had any experience with these bargain Marlins good or bad? I'm thinking that they do come with the Marlin guarantee and Marlin will make whatever right. Am I thinking right?
Old 05-31-2006, 01:33 PM

Default RE: Marlin 1894 .44 from Big 5?

I got a wally world 1894 in .357. I love it and use it more than anything else. The only problem is that it refuses to feed SWC ammo. Not a huge deal for me since I prefer jacketed ammo.
Old 05-31-2006, 08:31 PM
Boone & Crockett

I have a 1894 in 44 Magnum as well. I have not tried the Cast Performance 300 Grain LFNGC bullets yet but I just picked up a box at Cabelas. Cast Performance claims that this bullet will feed through the Marlin. Its an LBT style bullet which should stop about any critter that it hits. I will load some of them up soon and report on them.
Old 06-01-2006, 12:11 AM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: medicblue