Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Crossbows
quartering to shots? >

quartering to shots?

Community
Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

quartering to shots?

Old 12-23-2013, 09:18 AM
Spike

Default quartering to shots?

I have been hunting with a Parker Tomohawk (320fps) for a few years, never shot anything. This past Oct. i did pass a shot at a 145" 9pts at 37yds quartering to. Should I have taken the shot or did I do the right thing?
Also I have a giant i am getting pics of 45 yds from my tree. Will a buck "jump the string" with a crossbow at that distance?
Old 12-23-2013, 11:03 AM
Nontypical Buck

I'd be less worried about jumping the string - albeit a real possibility with the deer looking at you; I think they can SEE the arrow coming - than a wounded deer. Front quartering is a tough shot because the shoulder bones protect the vitals; and the opening into the chest cavity from head on takes real precise shooting. At 37 yards I'd likely pass too. Just sayin....
Old 12-24-2013, 04:54 AM
Fork Horn

37 yd quartering toward you shot,

Only YOU know your skill level, how accurate you are in a hunting situation. That's a good deal different than off of sand bags & target bench.

My bow is a Scorpyd 165, 105 fps faster, but no chance I'd take that shot. At 17 yds,......perhaps, I'd have to be there, but no way at 37.

And if this is from a tree stand like your second part of this question, then I do not believe anyone should take such a shot. That's a tough shot at anything over 20 yds at ground level for most, and just a plain no way if in a elevated location. 15-20'+ elevation even at shorter 14-18yds, is just wrong. The angle change to the shot makes a already hard shot a NO shot.

45 yrd. shot