Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Crossbows
have a couple questions >

have a couple questions

Community
Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

have a couple questions

Old 11-30-2013, 12:38 AM
Spike

Question have a couple questions

I have been hunting for 40 years and about a month ago I bought a Jaguar 175# crossbow , this is my first bow of any kind. I didn’t really shop around I saw the jaguar and thought it was a good price so I bought it after buying it I started reading a lot about crossbows and I guess it’s a cheap xbow but I have read a lot of reviews about it and a lot of people think it’s a good bow. It came with a 3 dot scope and I didn’t like it so I ordered a Hawke XB1 , it should be here any day , I have been shooting it with iron sights and have been shooting some nice groups. I read that this guy twisted the string 14 times but the article didn’t really say why , does this give you more power ? What is the reason for twisting the string ? Also I was wondering if I should put a drop of blue locktite on all the scope mounting screws . Wow I never realized that crossbows were this complicated . The first couple weeks I had it were a real learning experience , it didn’t come with a cocking rope and I found out that’s a must have and the arrows that came with it were cheap aluminum so I bought some carbon arrows. But I am really excited about hunting with it and I am trying to learn everything I can about crossbows.
Old 11-30-2013, 04:47 AM
Nontypical Buck

The reason for twisting the string is to maintain brace height. Most stings stretch with use before they settle in. Bow becomes faster as sting lengthens (longer power stroke) so the point of impact will change. Twisting (it in the direction of the rest of the twists) shortens the sting and maintains accuracy.