Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Crossbows
What's your max sure kill range? >

What's your max sure kill range?

Community
Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

What's your max sure kill range?

Old 09-22-2011, 09:34 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default What's your max sure kill range?

After 40+ years with bows, my shoulders have decided no more so I'm a rookie crossbow dude. I've been practicing for two months with my new Parker and am confident I can hit anything that's still in the arrows path out to 45 yards.
My question, with a crossbow sounding something like a .22 rifle going off, what's your experience tell you that your surefire that deer ain't going to jump or duck or spin out of the way arrow range.
I'm thinking my Parker should be a sure bet at 30 yards but beyond that, I don't have that experience factor to know. What's your experience tell you. Please, no speculating, experience only.
thanks
Old 09-22-2011, 01:21 PM
Dnk
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by rockytop
After 40+ years with bows, my shoulders have decided no more so I'm a rookie crossbow dude. I've been practicing for two months with my new Parker and am confident I can hit anything that's still in the arrows path out to 45 yards.
My question, with a crossbow sounding something like a .22 rifle going off, what's your experience tell you that your surefire that deer ain't going to jump or duck or spin out of the way arrow range.
I'm thinking my Parker should be a sure bet at 30 yards but beyond that, I don't have that experience factor to know. What's your experience tell you. Please, no speculating, experience only.
thanks
At 30 yards alert deer have been known to swap ends or duck an arrow before the arrow arrived. Surefire? No way. If you are loaded with a pretty light arrow for the best speeds aim low (heart shot) and you'll either have a clean miss or a good shot.