Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Crossbows
String recipes, endless, flemish? >

String recipes, endless, flemish?

Community
Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

String recipes, endless, flemish?

Old 11-04-2009, 08:07 AM
Spike

Default String recipes, endless, flemish?

I am brand new to crossbows and I have an Excaliber Exocet on the way and want to get a few strings made after the stock string settles in and I get a measurement.

I shoot endless 452X on most of my vertical recurves. I've noticed most string makers here and other forums tend to make flemish strings for Excals. Is there a reason for that over endless?

I also use 8125 and Brownell TS Plus. Has anyone tested different string materials and what is your favorite string for Excals.
Old 11-04-2009, 12:30 PM
Nontypical Buck

Flemish are generally faster and stronger than EL - I make both for my bows - but less forgiving than the stock Excel string if the bow is dryfired. Suggest you use the stock string until you get a pattern down that prevents dryfire. 1) **** bow 2) engage safety 3) pick up bow and load.
Check out the Excal forum, Boo makes great strings and was very helpful getting me started.
Old 11-04-2009, 03:01 PM
Spike

Thanks Cossack. I can see a learning curve ahead with this bow with a whole new routine in shooting! I can't make a string but I can reserve one so I'll definitely give the stock string a work out.

Everyone says I should learn to tie my own strings. I already handload 5 calibers, fletch and crest my own arrows and have a few other hobbies that keep me too busy. lol I am trying to resist making my own strings cause I know I'd end up with 5 or 6 different spools of string and that many serving types as well. No, I'm going to resist.
Old 11-04-2009, 04:06 PM
Dnk
Nontypical Buck

I use almost exclusively 452X on all of my strings.
Old 11-20-2009, 02:09 AM
Spike