Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

NEW ?????????

Old 12-29-2007, 09:50 PM

Default NEW ?????????

New to crossbow shooting, first time on this forum, need lots of help.
I started shooting and hunting with a re curve bow in the sixty's, my first compound was an Allen.

A friend gave me an old Horton Stag crossbow, witch I plan to hunt with next year. I made a front site for it and bought a new string and put it on. I have 2216 bolts with 5" vanes that need to be shortened to 17".

#1 What broad head would you recommend for this bow?
#2 How do you let the tension off the string after hunting, with out shooting it?
#3 I was told by Horton that I should shoot feathers instead of vanes, what do you think.

Thanks for the help, I know there will be more questions to come
Old 12-29-2007, 10:14 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: NEW ?????????

I don't know anything about that model. I don't understand why you would want to cut your arrows down to 17", the 20" will be more accurate usually. Also, have never heard of needing feathers vs vanes, both should work. If you can use a rope cocker to cock it, you can use it to safely uncock it or else fire a junk arrow into the ground or target. Rope cockers center the string every shot, if you don't use one you might want to mark the string on each side of the rail when it's at rest [uncocked but strung] I like Slick Tricks 100gr but if they don't shoot for you would guess a mechanical would. good luck!
Old 12-30-2007, 08:32 AM
Giant Nontypical

Definitely carry a bolt with ajudo point and just shoot the thing rather than trying to let down. Saves you the strain and gives you that extra little bit of practice if you pick a specific target, like leaf on the groundor something like that, to shoot for.