Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Crossbows
 CROSSBOW EXPERIENCES >

CROSSBOW EXPERIENCES

Community
Crossbows This is the place to discuss hunting with crossbows and crossbow equipment. This is NOT a crossbow debate forum.

CROSSBOW EXPERIENCES

Old 09-27-2006, 10:57 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default CROSSBOW EXPERIENCES

hello all, i am new to crossbows and decided with all the friends wanting be to help them at home with sighting in and advice, i thought i would start this topic..i am not expert on crossbows, recurves i am.. been at this for 45 years,wow ,that long,oh my..well,here we go.things i found out with crossbow is this..they are not light,real heavy in a tree or shooting off hand.the slighest movement and your arrow could be off at least 3 inchs from bullseye.with scope its hard to get center of target unless shooting off of rest ,much harder than recurve or compound..at 30 yards not on rest your arrows could beoff as much as 7 inchs,book says you will have 5 inch drop.this is do to not being able to steady your shots and scope brings bullseye in more than pins or distict shooting with recurve.up to 30 shots a good compound or recurve shooter would and can out shoot a crossbowIF crossbow shooter is not strong in arms and has a lot of practice.rest assured on that.crossbows are noisy.we know that.i took my spitfire 100,s and put as much wobble into the arrow as i could..i wanted to see if the arrows would shoot all over..nope..those spitfires even loose shot the same point as a balanced arrow.i dont think balance with crossbow arrow is that extreme as with recurve or compound..sunlight, you better postion your stand so sun is at your back or to side.any sunlight into scope makes things tough to see and concentrate.this is secret to compound..concentration.you dont get that on compound or recurve, you pull up and let arrow fly.i have not tested yet on pulling up and just shooting compound to see what happens..i did notice in tree that arrows wil