Camp Cooking and Game Processing Trade recipes and other tricks of the trade for cooking wild game.

Catfish question

Old 01-10-2005, 06:35 PM

Default Catfish question

I was wanting to catch a few and fry them up. I was wodering what kind of catfish and what size. I have eaten catfish but only in restraunts. I am very new to cat fishing and the cooking of the fish. Any cleaning tips would also be helpful.
Old 01-10-2005, 07:22 PM

Default RE: Catfish question

well my brother and i caugh quite afew this past summer. some blues, some flatheads, and some channels. we just filleted them out like all other fish and on the bigger blues and flatheads we took the belly meat off as well. the way we get them to taste (not so muddy) as people would say. is we soak it in salt water for 3 days changing the water daily. then package it in a bag with regular water, and then when its defrosted before we go to eat it we soak it in milk for a while. then we batter it and then deep fat fry it, or we put it in boiling water with a cup of vinigar and cook it that way
Old 01-11-2005, 05:28 AM

we catch them in the Suwannee River all the time,mostly blues and channel.we like the ones about 10" to 12",if we get the bigger ones we fliet them,we just clean them (skin) scrap the tail fin and season in everglades seasoning lowyers season roll in corn meal and deep fry.

the muddy taste most people get is from not scraping the tail fins.(I would rather have the fins , than the rest of the fish).if you scrap it,you can fry them golden brown without and muddy taste.
Old 01-11-2005, 08:25 AM
Nontypical Buck