Community
Camp Cooking and Game Processing Trade recipes and other tricks of the trade for cooking wild game.

Your Best Venison Jerky Recipe

Old 11-13-2017, 04:56 PM
Super Moderator

Default Your Best Venison Jerky Recipe

In a dehydrator?

I'm just getting started on dehydrating and working a jerky recipe up. So far, I've gone through about 10 #'s of venison so far. Any tips, recipes, etc.?
Old 11-14-2017, 06:46 AM
Super Moderator

use sliced meat and try the backwoods jerky seasonings. its pretty darn good. for beef jerky I like the "high mountain seasoning" but it didn't do the venison justice in my opinion.

don't forget to trim as much silver lining and fat off as you can.

Last edited by kellyguinn; 12-07-2017 at 04:26 AM.
Old 11-14-2017, 06:51 AM
Boone & Crockett

I slice my meat into 1/4" thick pieces about 1" or so wide. I have a very simple recipe which is 1/4 black pepper and 3/4 fine sea salt. To that mixture I add a bit of garlic powder for more flavor. If you want it a bit more spicy add in some red pepper.
When I use ground meat I use the High Mountain original jerky seasoning.
I always vacuum pack my jerky putting 15 - 20 pieces per bag.
Old 11-23-2017, 05:38 PM
Typical Buck

I myself prefer using ground venison and a jerky gun. A lot easier on the teeth.
Old 12-05-2017, 09:21 AM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by flyinlowe
I myself prefer using ground venison and a jerky gun. A lot easier on the teeth.
Although I have had some decent sliced deer jerky, I agree with you. Not enough fat in venison for my jerky palette which admittedly is not gourmet quality.

I use NESCO spices. Four packets original and one hot-and-spicy to five pounds of ground meat.
Old 12-06-2017, 06:10 AM
Giant Nontypical