Community
Camp Cooking and Game Processing Trade recipes and other tricks of the trade for cooking wild game.

casing issues

Old 09-24-2012, 05:27 PM
Spike

Default casing issues

I have been making venison polish sausage for a few years now and I always seem to have problems getting the natural casings to snap when you bite into them. It is usually pretty cold when we smoke the meat but we can always get the meat up to the right temp usually in a water bath though. Will the synthetic casings work better or do I need to get the meat a little hotter in the smoker?
Old 09-24-2012, 05:44 PM
Fork Horn

Not sure hope you prepare your natural hog gut casings. When I prepare my casings, prior to stuffing, I soak them quite awhile in hot water. Keep changing the water as it cools. Then I throughly wash out the casings by hooking them up to the faucett and running fairly warm water through them to clean them out. When I'm stuffing, I keep the casings in a bowl of warm water till needed. Good luck with your sausage. After I take the sausage out of the smoker, I spray them with cold water to cool them down, and prevent wrinkling of the skins. Can't wait to make my next batch.
Good luck with yours.

I might add, make sure you are packing your casings tight.

Last edited by KT29; 09-24-2012 at 06:09 PM. Reason: added
Old 11-20-2012, 07:07 AM
Fork Horn