Community
Camp Cooking and Game Processing Trade recipes and other tricks of the trade for cooking wild game.

Grinding deer meat

Old 11-22-2009, 09:07 AM
Spike

Default Grinding deer meat

I'm new to hunting and I've been lucky enough to kill two small does this season, one with my crossbow and the other with my slug gun, my buddy gave me one of the ones he shot too so I've got quite a bit of meat. How should I go about grinding some of it up for burgers? I've heard of people mixing sausage or beef fat into it? Where can I get an inexpensive grinder? Thanks in advance for any advice!
Old 11-22-2009, 09:24 AM
Typical Buck

a hand grinder would be the cheapest thing you can buy. do you live near a northern tool store they have them . so does bass pro,cabelas,gander mtn.
Old 11-22-2009, 09:42 AM
Fork Horn

lowes sells the waren pro grinder for 100 bucks , i have had one for 4 years and ground up quite a few deer , it's not a big grinder and you have to feed it slowly , but it does it's job.

deer meat is very very lean , alot of people add pork fat to the deer to make it have a bit of fat, i seen anywhere from 20 to 50% fat added , i personally get it right around 25-30% sometimes i even add a bit of bacon to it.

pork butts are great to mix into the deer burger.. and if you know a butcher you may be able to get some of the fat trimmings they have left after they process the meats.it's another cheap alternative.

here's a cheap grinder...
http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/cta...emnumber=99598
don't really know how well it would hold up though.
Old 11-22-2009, 10:00 AM
Fork Horn