Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > After The Hunt > Camp Cooking and Game Processing
Grey Squirrel Cooking Advice Wanted! >

Grey Squirrel Cooking Advice Wanted!

Community
Camp Cooking and Game Processing Trade recipes and other tricks of the trade for cooking wild game.

Grey Squirrel Cooking Advice Wanted!

Old 09-03-2009, 12:04 AM
Nontypical Buck

Question Grey Squirrel Cooking Advice Wanted!

Hey Guys!

I'm looking for more reasons to be in the deer woods and thought squirrel hunting would be a good reason. However, I don't know how to cook grey squirrels.

I'm a decent cook and can follow directions though.

How do you cook grey squirrels?

Do you have any good recipes for grey squirrels?

Thanks,

iSnipe
Old 09-03-2009, 05:35 AM
Typical Buck

Squirrel can be very tough young ones not so bad. You are better cooking them long and slow. Fast cooking like frying tends to toughen them.

Cajun Crockpot Squirrel

Serves 6
3 pounds meat(squirrel)
2 med.size chopped onions
1/2 chopped bell pepper
8 oz. can tomato sauce
salt and pepper to taste
1 T. flour
1 T. cooking oil

Put all ingredients in the slow cooker and stir well.Add water to just barely cover meat.Cook on high for about 5 hours or untill meat is cooked Serve over rice.

Cajun Style Rice

3 cups rice
2 tsp. salt
6 cups water
2 T. cooking oil

Place rice in pot and add water,salt and oil.Place over medium heat uncovered.As soon as rice starts to boil,stir.Cover and reduce heat to low.Let cook for 20 to 20 minutes longer or intill water has been absorbed.

Grandma's Squirrel Pot Pie
· 1 cup Bisquick (Original Recipe)
· 1 cup of milk
· 2 cans cream of mushroom soup
· 1 can sliced mushrooms (drained)
· 1 one pound bag frozen mixed vegetables (thawed and warmed on stove top)
· 2 large eggs
· 3 guttted/skinned/boiled/de-boned large gray squirrels cut into chunks.
· 1 teaspoon pepper
· 2 teaspoons salt
1. Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees.
2. mix eggs, bisquick and milk with a fork til blended well and set aside.