Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Is there a bowyer in the house? >

Is there a bowyer in the house?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Is there a bowyer in the house?

Old 04-03-2005, 07:00 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Is there a bowyer in the house?

Having gotten so fraustrated in not being able to find a left handed recurve and getting outbid on e-bay everytime, I have decided to build my own bow. I just recieved the vedio and blue prints along with instuctions in building it from Binghams. No I have no ideal what I am doing but I am a carpenter by trade and have all the tools for building it as it seems to have more detail than I thought but I can handle that part, but I was just curious if any of you other guys have built one and if you all have some do's and don'ts as far as what materials to use as there is so many factors to include and I don't want to rush it but would like to use it this sept. I want to go with a muti-layer heavy wood for the riser using various stips to elimanate shock, but I am uncertain about the wood to use in the limbs. You guys got any ideals and why? I am more into function than showing it off, thanks in advance for any imfo, Bobby
Old 04-03-2005, 07:17 PM

Default RE: Is there a bowyer in the house?

try the traditional section.
Old 04-03-2005, 07:29 PM
Nontypical Buck

Gib, I thought of that, but I thought it would get more exposure in here at this time of year since its slow there and also in the left handed forum. Thanks anyway, Bobby
Old 04-03-2005, 09:47 PM
Giant Nontypical

I've only built one longbow, so I hardly classify as a bowyer. [&:] It shoots hard and straight though, and isn't too ugly, but I know my next one will be better.