Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Broadhead Help?

Old 09-11-2004, 09:16 PM

Default Broadhead Help?

I set my son up to archery hunt this year. He's shooting a Reflex Buckshin at 48 lbs. with a 26" drawlength. Goldtip arrows w/ 4" vanes. Shoots with a release. 85 grain field points.

My question is, What broadhead should I start him out with? Just putting this out for some different opinions. I've been bowhunting for about 20 years, so I do have some preferences, but I don't want that to get in the way of getting the kid started off right. I prefer cut on contact heads. I don't know if he can be consistent enough with his form to shoot them. I guess I should say "I'm looking for a more forgiving broadhead to start him out with".
Old 09-11-2004, 09:31 PM
Boone & Crockett

Default RE: Broadhead Help?

I think you have the knowledge inside yourself to make the right decision. You showed that to me by liking a cut on contact head. There are so many good broadheads on the market today and listing a few, Muzzy, InnerLoc, Wasp, Rocky Mountain and so on. With his limited poundage and with that I assume KE...I'd stay away from mechanicals but I'm sure you already know that.....just pick one your secure and confident in and get the boy out and practice with them. Limit him to certain confident yardages and have a great season.
Old 09-11-2004, 09:39 PM

We've been practicing together since early June. He's doing pretty well for his first year. He's shooting good groups 30 and 35 yards. After that they start to spred a little. This is practice only. He knows he's limited in range...25 yds. is absolute max. 20 is alot better. Once in a while he tends to torque the bow a tad. But that is expected of a 13 year old.
Old 09-12-2004, 06:58 AM
Fork Horn